Forums    General Discussions    Does this sound right?
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Does this sound right?
 Login now/Join our community

posted
Ebay now has a 1980 Barth, 37' long on a "Hendrickson" chassis with a Cummings "V555" engine.

I'm a newbie. Does this sound right?

Posts: 22 | Location: Houston, Texas | Member Since: 03-18-2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
"First Year of Inception" Membership Club
Picture of davebowers
posted Hide Post
Ironhead, I though you would have been from Northern Minnesota...

I have seen this individual coach for sale before. I did a little research on the chassis and as I recall these Hendrickson-International chassis' were primarily school and transit bus chassis in the early 80's but were also widely used with fire trucks and such. The Cummins V-555 engine was much harder to find info on. With the exception of the fact that they are used big time on boats and even more common on large generators. I called the local Cummins guy here and his reply was...I think that's an industrial engine. It appears by the tag the seller photographed that this was indeed a non production model. Barth sure was an interesting company wasn't it.

------------------

[This message has been edited by davebowers (edited May 12, 2004).]

Posts: 1658 | Location: Eden Prairie, MN 55346 USA | Member Since: 01-01-2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I know of this coach... a guy I met through Barthmobile.com e-mailed me about this coach a year or so ago, and almost bought it. His wife wanted something newer. Anyway, it is loaded with tons of goodies, and while a little crude by Regency standards, would be a hell of a rig. Hendrickson made firetrucks and such back in the day. Apparently it rode like a dream! Could be a steal for someone... but it's B-I-G! 37'! Wow! Cummins... Allison... air suspension... WOOF! Check out those four captains' chairs!