Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Backup Cameras
 Login now/Join our community

posted
Before I start on the subject topic, I would like to take the opportunity to wish all members and guests a merry xmas and happy new year. As a newbie, I have been made welcome and it is a pleasure to be a member.

Now the topic at hand, backup cameras. I, like a lot of members, have a Sony B&W system circa 1990 which has quit. The system uses a four conductor cable with waterproof connection at the camera end.

To find out what was available, I called RVcams.com. This site was recommended in our forums. They were very knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with.

The following is what I learned:

-Sony products are discontinued (we all knew this)
- the monitor is probably ok if the screen is lit but no signal is present.
- the cable may be at fault since mice love this cable covering almost as much as real food. A continuity check must be made to eliminate.
-if the camera is at fault, a Voyager B&W or colour unit is a direct substitute using a special adapter made by Voyager which allows the use of the Sony 4 conductor cable. Cost of adapter- $18. If the colour camera is selected, it will only allow B&W viewing but allows you the option of upgrading the monitor at a later date.
-if the Voyager monitor is selected as well, there is an adapter for that end to use the Sony connector.
-Voyager products offer the monitor in 5" and 7" models.

Voyager products are pricey but offer better quality and future availability of parts or replacements (ie they have been in business for over 10 years). I was quoted $307 for 5.6 colour monitor,$259 for colour camera or $199 for B&W. Probably cheaper to buy as a package.

RV cams did not know whether the Voyager adapter would work with other brands on the market as there are just so many. The adapter was made specially for Sony as that is the bulk of the upgrade market.