Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

I'm ready to buy--BUT
 Login now/Join our community

posted
Newbie here needs input. Thanks Dave for such an awesome site and thanks to all who have responded to my past questions.
Am seriously considering buying--have my eye on three choices--two Breakaway diesels and a Regal. My wife and I full-time and have for the past ten years. After owning 6 SOBs (some really were!) I think I want a Barth. Haven't ever been in one, but I'm convinced. Any recommendations? Which would you buy? I know I'll have many other questions and I thank you all in advance for responses. I'm still not sure the aluminum skin versus fiberglas--what's with the roof? Aluminum? Need sealing/maintenance? Thought my Apollo would be my last motorhome--I loved it but sooo heavy! HELP!

Posts: 20 | Location: Marlton, NJ, USA | Member Since: 04-18-2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Old Man and No Barth
posted Hide Post
One man's H.O.

Two big differences between Breakaways & Regals - 1) diesel vs. gas, 2) gas Regal should be cheaper. Choice comes from the size of your bankbook , and how far you'll drive each year. You'll probably get the price differential back on resale, but no RV is an investment on which to expect a significant return.

Al vs. F.G.? My s.o.b. was F.G. I prefer the Al. For me, it's easier to keep old paint looking good, than faded F.G. gelcoat.