Forums    General Discussions    The return of Stinky Daddy Jr.
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

The return of Stinky Daddy Jr.
 Login now/Join our community

posted
Hello Friends,
It’s been awhile, This is Walker; Bill (StinkyDaddy’s) Son. I have been out of the Barth world for awhile. I’d love to catch up with many of you. Also, I rebuild Carburetors for a living and thought I may be able to help some of you. Bring the welcome wagon and the shitpot of limes.

Posts: 4 | Location: Rocky Mount VA | Member Since: 12-29-2023Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Official Barth Junkie
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 1/24
Picture of Steve VW
posted Hide Post
Helloo Walker! Good to hear from you! It has been a while and we miss the margaritas from the past. Always enjoyed times with you and the whole family. What a hoot!

I am pretty sure there are numerous carbs out there that could use your attention. Getting hard to find someone to do that lately. It's been a while for me. I'm a diesel guy lately.

I hope we will see you again at a future GTG. Take care and be well! Thumbs Up

9708-M0037-37MM-01
"98" Monarch 37
Spartan MM, 6 spd Allison
Cummins 8.3 325+ hp

Posts: 5182 | Location: Kalkaska, MI | Member Since: 02-04-2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of BarthBluesmobile
posted Hide Post
quote:
I rebuild Carburetors

It is great to meet you! I have been reading about the reformulated gasolines, reformulated since the time that many of the carburetors on our rigs were built. In 1987, gasoline was "gasoline", now it is sometimes 10% ethanol.

I was reading that ethanol is a source for additional oxygen in the combustion chamber, and that this could cause a slight lean condition. I read that on EFI systems, this is detected with the O2 sensor, and fuel delivery is adjusted by the magic of the computer.

I haven't heard of people reworking carburetors for this. Should the rods on the quadrajet be changed to add a tad more fuel?