Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

1972/73 Barth 29' with tag axle
 Login now/Join our community

Picture of Don Brauner
posted
Hello to the fine folks I met at the get together at the Hillsborough River State Park this past Thanksgiving. I finally got my Barth home and am excited about getting started on my restoration. It needs new appliances, flooring, minor plumbing and electricals repairs, etc. I can handle that. Having no knowledge of the workings of motorhomes I'm in need of help, info. I have basic knowledge of engines, transmissions, brakes, etc. Things such as the appearance and location of the solenoid that cuts off the fuel to the generator when the tank gets low, there must be a fuel pump to get the fuel to the generator, again the appearance and location of this pump, the workings of the gas furnace, there seems to be air bags inside the coil springs on the tag axle, any info on these would be helpful. Anything that is specific to motorhomes is what I'm looking for. Locations where any books, manuels, photo's, etc. can be purchased would be appreciated.
This particular coach has a four piece windshield. The two flat rectangular pieces in the front with a small curved, possibly plastic, lexan, etc, on either side. These side pieces are discolored and full of small cracks. Can replacements be found.
I've been told that this vehicle has a 454 chevy motor in it. The Barth VIN # is 72081168MC29L. The incomplete veh. mfg. VIN # from GMC is CPE372J168868. Hopefully these numbers can help with info for this vehicle, such as engine size, transmission type, original color, model, etc.
I'm sure my list will grow as I get into this project. Again any info, pictures, manuals, schematics, wiring diagrams etc or where to get them would be appreciated.