Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

staying warm
 Login now/Join our community

posted
Not yet being an owner of a motorhome I have no real experience with staying warm in the winter as one drives an rv down the road. For example: A 30' Barth with a 454 in it has enough of heater to do the job? Do you run a furnace or heat strips with the generator running as you move down the road when outside temps are in the teens?

Dan

Posts: 1 | Location: Winchester, VA | Member Since: 01-06-2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Dan, I'm guessing that the answers will vary widely. My dash heater will keep the area up front nice and cozy but it gets chilly in the rear section. Against all safety advise, I have used the furnace while travelling. I have also fired up the gen set and run the roof top heat strips.

Posts: 283 | Location: Huntsville, AL USA | Member Since: 11-13-2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 1/11
"5+ Years of Active Membership"
Picture of Jack
posted Hide Post
Haven�t really done much driving in the 'teens' but mine warms nicely with the motor aided heater in the rear bedroom. This is a heater core attached to the engine cooling system and it has its own blower controlled from a switch on the dash. I think most Barths seem to have this as an option. (Must be shut off in summer though).

------------------

89 Barth Regal 32
Runs like a Deere
New Hampshire

Posts: 369 | Location: North Troy, Vermont | Member Since: 08-30-2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
If you have the motor-aided heater in the rear you should stay nice and warm when driving in cold weather --- but watch out for freezing in the grey and black water tanks.

Posts: 138 | Location: Hayden Lake (Coeur d'Alene), ID USA | Member Since: 11-14-2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
"First Year of Inception" Membership Club
Picture of davebowers
posted Hide Post