Forums    General Discussions    Getting bumped?
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Getting bumped?
 Login now/Join our community

Glassnose Aficionado
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 2/09
Picture of Danny Z
posted
The last couple days have been frustrating when on this site. Every time I try to respond or post something I get bumped. AOL has encountered an error and needs to shut down. I went to Comcast and had the same thing happen but had to shut down completely to get back up. This is a cable modem and I don't have any problems anywhere else. Any input?

------------------
Dan & Suzy Z
'81 Euro 28

Posts: 3480 | Location: Venice Fl. | Member Since: 07-12-2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
"First Year of Inception" Membership Club
Picture of davebowers
posted Hide Post
Hi Danny,

I am sorry you are having problems. I am pretty confident they don't extend from Barthmobile. What is sound like to me, (and I am not an expert, just experienced) that you have a memory overload situation. If you do not have a bunch of windows open or another application that you are aware of running. I would first go to Run, type msconfig and click on the setup tap. Look at the things that are listed there. The are ram resident application like your anti-virus, printer utilities etc. If you have something there that is obviously not something you are familiar with uncheck the box. You could uncheck everything and you computer would still run, you just not get antivirus protection. Next, one thing that will cause the sympton you describe is a virus that is working in the background and overloading your memory momentarily. So run you antivirus. Then I would strongly suggest, if you haven't already, download Spybot, search and destroy. This is free and will search out cookies and other small application left by some of the websites you visit. They can also cause you problems.