Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Radiator air flow imrovement
 Login now/Join our community

Picture of apoccia
posted Hide Post
dont worry i'm a professional. ha

Posts: 36 | Location: North Jersey | Member Since: 07-28-2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
First Month Member
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 11/13
posted Hide Post
A former Barth owner pressure washed his present Monaco radiator and ended up with scrap.

84 30T PeeThirty-Something, 502 powered

Posts: 6169 | Location: AZ Central Highlands | Member Since: 01-09-2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 03/22
posted Hide Post
I certainly agree with both Bill(s) about a power washer! I used a garden hose with a small blaster on the end and ruin my original radiator. I was wasn't careful enough and hit the rad at an angle with the water stream and it bent a couple of fins over, upon straightening them, one of the tubes broke with a very small pin hole. I now open the engine room and spray from a spray bottle simple green and then water with the engine running at high idle.

On a pusher, rear mounted radiator, I would never remove the engine mounted fan!!! I have two 3000 CFM pullers on the back side of the radiator and they come on about 195. I still see 200 occasionally on long uphill pulls with outside at 95+. I also do a lot of driving at altitudes above 3000 ft and there is a noticeable difference and lack of cooling at high altitudes.

Don't know what engine you have apoccia, but the intake system filter is not going to cause much trouble. If you are looking for higher HP, there are systems out there that will improve the breathing some what,it is a system with many parts upgraded for the upgrade, the air cleaner change by itself will not do much if anything, and with a diesel there is always a risk of engine damage due to small particle ingestion.

Ed
94 30' Breakaway #3864
30-BS-6B side entry
New Cummins 5.9L, 375+ HP
Allison 6 speed
Spartan chassis
K9DVC