Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Buying and selling Barths
 Login now/Join our community

Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 12/12
posted
Why do knowledgeable people chase Barths, buy them and then want to sell them after fixing them up?

Tom Taylor

Posts: 306 | Location: Jacksonville FL | Member Since: 05-21-2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 3/19
Picture of Mogan David
posted Hide Post
not sure if I should answer on my own behalf or not. not sure I qualify as "knowledgeable"
knowledgeable |ˈnälijəbəl| (also knowledgable)
adjective
intelligent and well informed

I studied a lot about Barth, and many other Class A's before taking a leap to buy the one Dr. and Mrs. Yale had from 1992 (new) to 2011. I had dreams of traveling all over in it, as they had done. Unlike most members, it was my first Class A. previously had a few small travel trailers and camper vans.

The Barth served me well on my BIG TRIP from Michigan, to several National Parks, to my sister's in Marin Co. CA and back home. But, there was $0.40 per mile for fuel, having to pay big buck$ for almost anything and everything needing repair/replacement, storage issues and (at that time) a wife not well-suited for RV living, at least not with me. Mike, the current owner, is more skilled and experienced for mechanical, electrical and plumbing. He probably also has a well-matched traveling companion.

Immediately upon selling the Breakaway, I bought a 1995 Pleasure-Way class B based on an old-style Dodge 1 Ton van. I am enjoying it. Some of you have seen it. Rather than tow a tandem axle Featherlite car trailer with my MINI on it, I tow a little Aluma trailer with my scooter on it.
I am able to do more things on my own and/or by a mechanic friend who lives an hour away. When I must pay to have work or maintenance performed, everything is much less expensive.
Well, Tom, you didn't ask for a biography. sorry if I have gone too far.