Forums    General Discussions    New member with questions on longevity :-)
Page 1 2 
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

New member with questions on longevity :-)
 Login now/Join our community

posted
Hello all,

I'm a 46 year old teacher. I've been fulltiming for 2 years now and love it! I stay in the seattle are for the school year and travel all summer. I noticed there are a few other members in western washington.

I'm presently in a 22 foot '83 winnebago and want to get a slightly newer rig, maybe a little more room and have been looking at bluebirds, newell and barth as my next rig. I can't afford new on a teacher's salary.

I plan to continue full-time until I can't drive safely any more and was wondering if it is realistic to get a barth from the late 80's or early 90's and get another 30 years from it. I cover about 3-5000 miles per year.

Thanks for any input!

Keith

Posts: 2 | Member Since: 06-13-2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Needless to say you can get what you desire, IF YOU MAINTAIN THE COACH, PROPERLY. Hey, I know of many vehicle's that were made in the 40's and 50's that have SURVIVED. To me it is as simple as that, PROPERLY MAINTAINING, ANY MOTOR VEHICLE. Some if not ALL experts would say that 3-5000 miles per year is NOT a POSITIVE though.

Let's see what the EXPERTS say on this subject. Who am I to give out advise?

P.S. I do want to state that there are units out there that would be VERY difficult to keep running for a long period of time, but Barth is CERTAINLY NOT ONE OF THEM. It is QUALITY.
Dale

[This message has been edited by Smith Brother (edited June 13, 2005).]

Posts: 629 | Location: INDY,IN USA | Member Since: 06-30-2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 12/12
Picture of Lee
posted Hide Post
Keith,

I like your thinking, i.e.: look for an older "quality" machine like Barth, Newell, etc. and concentrate on previous-owner care.