Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Towing not recommended by Toyota
 Login now/Join our community

Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com11/10
Picture of Bill & Sonja
posted
Hi gang, looking for opinions. I have an opportunity to acquire an 97 Toyota Rav4, manual trans with all wheel drive. It has been fully set up with a Blue Ox towing set up and very professionally done by a RV dealer. The present owner has been towing it with no apparent problems. This configuration does not appear on the Remco list of towables. However this model with auto trans and lube pump is approved with all wheel drive. I have called 5 Toyota service departments and can only get the statement "Toyota does not recommend towing any of their vehicles 4 wheeels down". Would I be looking for trouble towing the vehicle? I have been towing a Miata for several years with no problems and it is not recommended by Mazda and was considered impossible to get away with by the Miata forum. Any insight greatly appreciated. BILL

1987 Newell ~ 40ft Widebody
2x f/o's: 1988 Barth - 33 Ft. SE tag axle & 1976 Barth - 24 Ft.

Posts: 115 | Location: Calgary - Alberta & B.C., Canada | Member Since: 09-17-2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 3/12
posted Hide Post
Well, you can roll the dice and take your chances if you want.. I personally would not tow anything unless it says you can in the owners manual for that make, model, and year. I can't afford to pay the kind of money that it would take to repair one. It cost one of my neighbors here in Yuma $4000 a couple or years ago for a new tranny for a brand new Jeep Liberty that you could tow 4 down, but he did not follow the proper procedure for towing it.

Posts: 878 | Location: Left side, top to bottom and back again. :>) | Member Since: 09-08-2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Bill & Sonja
posted Hide Post
As usual google can be very helpful. This link to a Toyota technical service bulletin (2000)