Forums    General Discussions    Weird story. Saved someone a couple days ago..
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Weird story. Saved someone a couple days ago..
 Login now/Join our community

"5+ Years of Active Membership"
posted
Some of you might know I am a paramedic.

The other day I was not working the 911 side of my job. Instead, I was working a 'critical transport' squad that normally takes people from hospital to hospital, or from the ER across town to the Cath Lab. It is a nice departure from pre-hospital medicine, but I wouldn't want to do it all the time.

It was quiet, and we had nothing scheduled. Being a truck without a 'local' meant we could *within reason* ride around townships that our 911 trucks didn't cover (other hospital's local area).

Anyway, I get on a highway and have gone about a mile up the road when I see a car pulled over on the side of highway, passenger door open. There is a man leaning on the door like he is tired or feeling ill.

I am not good at painting a picture of instinct, but my instantaneous gut reaction was "there is somebody in trouble". I mean, from the superficial aspect, there didn't appear to be anything seriously wrong. And, he had a friend with him on the phone. I have fairly decent instincts, and have learned to listen to them over the 22 years I have been a medic. At that moment, they were screaming at me, and not for any 'reason' I could put my finger on.

It really bothered me. I began to mentally try and talk myself out of the feeling I had, but it continued to nag at me. Finally, with the next exit coming up, I slid over and exited the highway.

Making the "u" turn to get back on the highway, I told my partner my intentions. He didn't say 'no' and in fact thought it might be a good idea.