Forums    General Discussions    Is there a Barth out there for me?
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Is there a Barth out there for me?
 Login now/Join our community

posted
What a great site! I admit it, I've been visiting for several months now. I was looking for a quality, classic, gas coach and saw an ad for a Barth. It was too far away to look at so I surfed and found this site. My wife and I have been outgrowing our '83 Lindy Class C. When we bought it ten years ago the over-cab bed didn't seen that hard to get in and out of. Now it's downright scary sometimes. The Barth construction looks like what I want.
I currently park our coach in the driveway and since it's only 22' long we still have room for each of our daily drivers. I can go up to a max of 28' and still do this.
I have a small collection of Austin-Healey sport cars that I restored and we sometimes tow one to an event when we can stay in the rv.
Question for the group. What models came in a 28' length that would have a class 3 or better hitch. I currently use an open flat bed trailer or tow dolly but would like to get an enclosed trailer for the weather and security benefits. The total weight of Healey and trailer would be just under 5000 lbs. Is the tow rating better on tags? Did they make any tags in 28' lengths? Would a Cummins Breakaway have sufficient power for me to climb the Grapevine, between LA and Bakersfield, at 40 plus mph? Would the 454 be enough if it had a 5000lb hitch?

As you can see, I'm full of questions. If you can share your experiences with me it would be appreciated. Please suggest what models of Barth I should be looking for.

Redlands Ron
'83 Lindy ( for now )

Posts: 6 | Location: redlands, ca. usa | Member Since: 10-15-2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
1st month member
posted Hide Post