Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Auto Industry-Just playing with the numbers
 Login now/Join our community

Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 11/12
Picture of Nick Cagle
posted
As previously disclosed I'm a retired accountant and can't help myself. I am always playing with the numbers. Maybe that's why I enjoy the Data Tag Project.

Anyway to the point of this post. According to published figures Chrysler Corp. lost $16.8 billion (16,800,000,000) in 2008. They sold a total of 1,453,122 units in the same period. The simple math is they lost $11,561 for every car and truck they manufactured and sold. Certainly a recipe for a successful company.

Nick

Posts: 1732 | Location: Harlem, GA | Member Since: 09-17-2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 6/12
Formally known as "Humbojb"
Picture of Jim and Tere
posted Hide Post
When I was in the steel business, our management, at least the managers from the 'new breed' of executives, made the accountants crunch the numbers to prove whatever the executives wanted to prove. Usually it had to do with incentives, stock options, etc. that only applied to the management. We always 'lost' a lot of money in the period prior to labor negotiations. IMHO, the plight of American business has as much to do with morality as anything else. People who lie, cheat and steal do not run companies very well. And while this may spark a wave of protest, moral values in the United States have corroded over the past 50 years at an alarming rate. I have found that those who struggle the most are generally the most moral. Those who have it made are the least moral. Why? Because the haves don't need to be held accountable to God, because they don't think they need Him. The rest of us know we need Him.

Jim and TereJim and Tere

1985 Regal
29' Chevy 454 P32
8411 3172 29FP3B
Gear Vendor 6 Speed Tranny

Posts: 3696 | Location: madisonville tn usa | Member Since: 02-19-2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post