Screen Removal Bargman L-300 Door Handle brakes Satellite Fuel Tank Fire Extinguishers Roof Antenna Tech Talk Forum Shortcut Motor Oil Window Generators headlights batteries Radiator AC Unit Grab Handle Wiper Blades Wiper Blades Door Locks Door Locks Door Locks Door Locks Rims Front Shocks Rear Shocks Front Tires Oil Filter Steps Roof Vent Awning Propane Tank Mirror Info Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Spartan Chassis Gillig Chassis Freightliner Chassis P-32 Chassis MCC Chassis
    Forums    Tech Talk    barth mcc interior 120volt wiring
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

barth mcc interior 120volt wiring
 Login now/Join our community

posted
Anybody have anything to share on the ac wiring of their coach?
I have a 82 Barth MCC and there is only the bedroom and bath 120volt circuit that works.
I am an electrician [industrial] and found that the wiring materials used are the same as in your house or an FMC. A nonmetalic insulated solid conductor cable. {generic term romex or NM}.
This should have been a flexible stranded conductor marine version of the same stuff.
I am at a loss as to how to approach repair,new wiring fed up from underneath the coach?
Rip out the inner skin of the walls?

Posts: 5 | Location: Arlington,Washington | Member Since: 08-14-2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Official Barth Junkie
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 1/24
Picture of Steve VW
posted Hide Post
As variable as Barth coaches are in general, I think the wiring is perhaps the most variable of all.

Some are documented with ALL wires RED. Between pushers and pullers, some have electric heat, inverters, generators, solar, etc. You never know what you will find. Some of the later ones had quick connects in the 110 circuits that are known to smoke.

Some owners have ripped out wall or ceilings to repair and upgrade. Personally, I would be tempted to run 110 from below with some conduit, etc.