Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Question to diesel mechanics:
 Login now/Join our community

Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 3/09
Picture of Lorelei
posted
Re the seized Detroit diesel: Is it possible for fuel to have filled the cylinders of the engine making it impossible for the compressed air to be injected? Tim's thought is that if he gets to the injectors and gets the fuel out of them, maybe the engine isn't really seized. We're having a hard time believing it overheated.

Posts: 38 | Location: Point Arena, CA | Member Since: 06-03-2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
FKA: noble97monarch
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 3/12
Picture of Moonbeam-Express
posted Hide Post
Lorelei,

I'm not a diesel mechanic, but I once had an old Chevy hydro lock on me. I pulled the spark plugs, fuel shot to the ceiling, reinstalled and drove it for three years till I sold it.

I seems easier for that to happen with a carbureted motor, but if an injector somehow leaked enough fuel which then didn't drain out through the rings. It only takes one cylinder to hydro lock any size engine.

The next question, even if you did overheat is what exactly seized? Rings, main bearings?

I found this on a site that repairs 8.2 DD -

"There is no "Quick Fix" for these engines. The engines have no cylinder sleeves or liners. The blocks must be bored and honed and the Block decks must be surfaced. This is the only correct way to bring a high mile or hour unit back into service with long life."

After reading a little about your DD I really think re-powering is going to be in your future, even if you get the 8.2 up again. I know a guy in Ohio that can extend your frame for a Cummins. This is common with bus chassis, in fact (I had an MCI before Barth).