Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Parts?
 Login now/Join our community

"5+ Years of Active Membership"
posted
I am new to the Barthmobile site and I am looking for a used motorhome to start RVing. The Barth certainly looks intriguing. One question (among many) that I have is since they do not manufacture any longer where do you get parts when needed (other than the obvious 3rd party components)? Is there a place to learn the models, years and lengths of Barth motorhomes? Thanks...

Posts: 6 | Location: Marion, Iowa USA | Member Since: 06-08-2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
"First Year of Inception" Membership Club
Picture of davebowers
posted Hide Post
Hi JJ,

And welcome to Barthmobile.com. What I am going to say here has been gleaned from reading this website and talking to others, But I am sure that it can be improved upon.

Up until the 1980's I don't thing that Barth's had names. In fact, in my collection of Barth catalogers, in the 1970's they just referred to the 25 foot Barth as "The 25 foot Barth" and no other names.

In 1982 when Barth bought the assets of the FMC motor-coach company

1976 FMC Motor-coach

They started making the Regency in 1982 for the unbelievable price of $185,000.

Around 1984 They changed the styling of all of there coaches to that which we are all used to and then the diesel unit was the Regency and the gas was the Regal.

1985 Regal (Ford or Chevy Gas)

1985 Regency (MCC chassis (FMC) and Detroit Diesel engine).

Then around 1987 they changed the chassis on the diesel units to Gillig Chassis with 250-275 hp Cats but still called them Regency's.

They also (in the 80's) built a small coach with a fiberglass front called the Euro.

It didn't sell well but as I understand it sold better in Europe than here. I was also told by Bob Barth Jr. they had leak problems around the fiberglass cap.

They also experimented with other chassis like the Iveco from Italy (Fiat).