Forums    General Discussions    UBB Website, Antiquated, Borrowed Time? tick tock
Page 1 2 
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

UBB Website, Antiquated, Borrowed Time? tick tock
 Login now/Join our community

"Host" of Barthmobile.com
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 1/19
Picture of Bill N.Y.
posted
Because of the prevalent use of mobile devices, and touch screen use across all platforms, this website is considered antiquated by today standards.

Translation: We might have to pack our bags here and migrate to another platform. I have been doing things in the background to try and keep this UBB formatted site accessible to our members. Sadly, the technological advances in all areas have made this task challenging for me.

I'm not a computer programmer, or a digital graphic artist, but I do get by. Almost all of the designs and the non UBB scripts have been done by me.

The latest changes, from the "Save ~ Edit ~ Delete" page, to the new buttons you see below have been designed strictly to further our time on this platform.

~
Quote ~ Edit ~ Topic
Reply ~ Post ~ Alert

Fat fingers do not like the little icons that are required to access certain areas of our boards. If there are other areas that need attention that might work clunky because of touch screens you'll have to tell me so I can try and find a workaround.

Trust me, I'm in no rush to reprogram all of our neat features to get them to work on the newest platform but it just might come down to that.

If you haven't noticed an issue, you're welcome. If you have, I'm sorry. My thoughts are it isn't as bad as the hosting company tells me. So, what do you see? I'd like to know so I can try to address the issues.

However, the drumbeat is getting louder. ♪ ♫ "Let it go, let it go" ♫ ♪ the hosting company sings.

Vain for my efforts? Or perhaps, maybe, I just don't want to see a lot of my work get digitally scrapped... to be continued. Computer Mechanic