Tools
Reply To This Topic

New-WannaBees
 Login now/Join our community

Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 4/13
Picture of Steve Griffin
posted
Hi and thanks for providing this forum.
I am a recently retired Manufacturing Engineer with 30+ years aluminum and composite experiance in the aerospace industry (Rockwell, Boeing). My wife and I are tired of spending our hard-earned American dollars supporting the motel industry in this country and plan to join the community of motorhome tourists. The Barth Motor Coach as a classic design intrigues me very much, being the owner of old Chevys, antique and modern Harleys, an Avanti II coupe and and being an airplane guy. I am quite capable of restoration and upkeep for a motorhome and am looking for a short wheelbase model to start with, just for my wife and I, 20-24 ft overall length. I have a shop to work indoors and to store, so I would like to buy a good original coach to polish up to use for traveling and show off. If there are any suggestions from you owners for the various Barth models to look for or avoid and weaknesses or costly options to watch out for, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance,
Steve Griffin

Posts: 151 | Location: Oologah, OK | Member Since: 10-05-2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 7/17
Picture of Doorman
posted Hide Post
Steve, welcome to the forum.

In the 20-24 ft Barths I would say any post 80's Euro or Regal P-30 (Chevy). 88 and newer should give you electonic fuel injection. I have no complaint with my 86 Qjet.

BB 454 if you plan on towing. 6.2 diesel if you just want the mpg.

There was a 22' 6.2 for sale in Woodstock N.Y. that look well taken care of.

There are no 2 Barths that were built the same. If you check the for sale and sold fourm it will give a good price range.

If you scan the Data tag forum it give you some insite as to the # of shorter coaches built.