Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Help! bought a barth regency 86
 Login now/Join our community

posted
I'm new to this coach thing all the way around and bought an 86 barth regency,love at first sight. However, not knowing much at all, im having a hard time figuring out what is wrong with it. It was running beautifully but started over heating,I pulled over and saw a hole in radiator reservoir, patched it, filled it and it wouldn't start, and also anytime I tried to start it, water would dump from underneath near a fitting going into motor. New batteries, starter good, alt good, gaskets? This baby was abused and needs a lot of help, im not the best owner for that, but I'd like to save her. Thanks.

Posts: 7 | Location: Florida  | Member Since: 03-04-2021Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Official Barth Junkie
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 1/24
Picture of Steve VW
posted Hide Post
Welcome to the site!

Barth coaches had numerous variations.

Regencies were built with MCC chassis and GM 8.2 liter V8 from 1981 until around 1986. Later years had a Gillig chassis and Cat 3208 V8 engines. Some of the last ones were Cummins powered on a Spartan chassis.

The early Regencies MCC chassis parts are hard to find. The GM 8.2 is prone to overheating and the design of the engine resulted in many problems with head gaskets. That engine was discontinued by GM after several modifications. They are very hard to keep running. These problems resulted in Barth changing the engine and chassis in late 86.

The Gillig chassis and Cat engines are still common and parts are available. Hopefully this is what you have,

Either way, be sure to fix any leaks before you run it or serious permanent damge can occur. Use the search feature here on the site and we may be able to pinpoint your problems.

Good luck. Thumbs Up

9708-M0037-37MM-01
"98" Monarch 37
Spartan MM, 6 spd Allison
Cummins 8.3 325+ hp