Forums    General Discussions    Fixing to become a proud owner of a Bison ??
Page 1 2 3 
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Fixing to become a proud owner of a Bison ??
 Login now/Join our community

Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 7/17
Picture of Doorman
posted Hide Post
Barth buyer checklist

1986 31' Regal -1976 Class C
454/T400 P30 -350/T400 G30
twin cntr beds - 21' rear bath

Posts: 1026 | Location: Dayton, Ohio | Member Since: 09-27-2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 12/20
Picture of Paul And Jaime
posted Hide Post
Wow That is one heck of a check list. I printed it out and have it on a clip board. I will be sure and take it with me. I am an electronics technician by trade but have been in the repair business in some form or fashion for as long as I can remember. I was a boiler tech in the navy for 6 years and got pretty good at spinning a wrench. Thanks to everyone for the responses, it has been a huge help easing my mind so to speak.

Posts: 155 | Location: Ky | Member Since: 10-20-2020Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Official Barth Junkie
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 1/24
Picture of Steve VW
posted Hide Post
Consider the coach to be a house on a vehicle. Both have needed upkeep. The house needs a roof, windows, plumbing, heating, AC, electrical appliances, etc. The vehicle needs engine, driveline, brakes, suspension, and fuel system maintenance, and tires, lights.

When you add it all up it can be overwhelming. OTOH, with a house you often get 20 yrs from roof, furnace, appliances, etc. A well maintained chassis will require only periodic lubrication, brakes, and tires.

If all of these things are OK, you can get good satisfaction and value from even an older motorhome. If you do not inspect well, it can wind up a horrible money pit that never quite gets used and enjoyed.