Screen Removal Bargman L-300 Door Handle brakes Satellite Fuel Tank Fire Extinguishers Roof Antenna Tech Talk Forum Shortcut Motor Oil Window Generators headlights batteries Radiator AC Unit Grab Handle Wiper Blades Wiper Blades Door Locks Door Locks Door Locks Door Locks Rims Front Shocks Rear Shocks Front Tires Oil Filter Steps Roof Vent Awning Propane Tank Mirror Info Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Spartan Chassis Gillig Chassis Freightliner Chassis P-32 Chassis MCC Chassis
    Forums    Tech Talk    A really dumb question reguarding alternator
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

A really dumb question reguarding alternator
 Login now/Join our community

posted
My Dad has an 88 regal 32' Chevy 454 on chevy chasis. I am completely new to the world of RVs, but have worked on a car or two in my time. He recently called the mobile rv mechanic out to diagnose an electrical problem. He switched some wires a previous mechanic screwed up, and presto fixed.

During this time the mechanic informed him the alternator is bad. With the mechanics rate of 75$ an hour, I figured I would save pops a few bucks and change it myself...How hard could it be? It's just a 454....

This is where I get lost. From the top engine compartment, I can easily see and access the alternator. Removing it looks like I will need to move some heater hose out of the way, and possibly a bracket or two. From the front all I see is radiator.

This is my question..While I can see the alternator, and possibly remove it from top, ther is no way I could access serpentine belt from this location if it were to slip off any other pulleys. What is the best way to tackle this job? Pull radiator, tranny cooler, ect? Or go from the top?....Told ya its was a dumb question.