Barthmobile Portal
Lubricants

This topic can be found at:
https://www.barthmobile.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3631087061/m/7081087903

05-01-2008, 01:17 AM
Rusty
Lubricants
Nick Cagle, knowing that I was a field engineer with Shell Oil, and one of two Navy "Fuels and Lubricants Technical Officers", asked me to post some observations concerning lubricants.

The first observation is: "Oil's cheaper than metal."

Synthetic oils have one common trait: They're homogeneous, which means the characteristics can be accurately predicted, because there are no intruders. This makes them more predictable, and thus, more stable, when combined with a suitable additive package.

I'll start with motor oil. In StaRV II's engine, I use only Shell Rotella T 15W40. The only other oils I'd consider are Mobil Delvac and Kendall Super D-III (both of which are superior to all others - IMHO). I'd not even give a passing glance to synthetic oil in a diesel, since depletion of the additive package will occur long before the base stock deteriorates. With Low-Sulfur Diesel (LSD), I changed oil every 3,000 miles. With ULSD, I'm going to 4,000. Sulfur is a major culprit in determining service life of motor oils (sulfur combined with water from condensation and combustion byproducts results in H2SO4 - sulfuric acid). Oddly enough, sulfur in a base stock can be beneficial in blending motor oil...go figure.

Despite claims to the contrary, only Shell and Mobil are the leaders in diesel motor oil. For gaso engines, Shell, Mobil, and Chevron are the routine picks, (with the Mobil 1 Synthetic the first choice in my Lexus LS-400), along with Castrol and Kendall synthetics. I don't even use Quaker State for door hinges.

Motor oils consist of a base stock, along with an additive package, which may be as much as 40% by volume.