Screen Removal Bargman L-300 Door Handle brakes Satellite Fuel Tank Fire Extinguishers Roof Antenna Tech Talk Forum Shortcut Motor Oil Window Generators headlights batteries Radiator AC Unit Grab Handle Wiper Blades Wiper Blades Door Locks Door Locks Door Locks Door Locks Rims Front Shocks Rear Shocks Front Tires Oil Filter Steps Roof Vent Awning Propane Tank Mirror Info Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Clearance Lights Spartan Chassis Gillig Chassis Freightliner Chassis P-32 Chassis MCC Chassis
    Forums    Tech Talk    Generator revival
Go to...
Start A New Topic
Search
Notify
Tools
Reply To This Topic

Generator revival
 Login now/Join our community

Picture of drew
posted
My coach sat for nearly 20 years. While the motor and a few other things were somewhat attended to by the previous owner, many things still need lots of attention.

I have little experience with onan generators other than oil and filter changes. Having sat so long, I'm wanting to do whatever i can to get it back to reliable operating condition. Any tips? Best place to find affordable parts? I'm sure i will end up rebuilding the carburetor, full tune up etc.

Also, aren't our generators designed to slide out for easier servicing?

Thanks in advance.

8411316331FP1
1985 Barth 31 foot
454 Chevy

Posts: 65 | Location: oklahoma | Member Since: 11-14-2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Glassnose Aficionado
Supporting Member of Barthmobile.com 2/09
Picture of Danny Z
posted Hide Post
On my old Euro the sled had been permanently locked in the closed position for structural reasons. On the 78 I have to remove 2 bolts that hold the sled closed, then pull out the genny. Good luck with the rest of getting it going. Billy T is the resident Onan expert but unfortunately we haven't heard a lot from him lately. Hopefully he'll see this and chime in.

79 Barth Classic

Posts: 3478 | Location: Venice Fl. | Member Since: 07-12-2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post